America's #1 Direct Source for Pool Supplies!

1.800.288.7946 Experts Available 24/7

Menu
Call Cart

1 Day Delivery

Your ZIP Code: Ashburn Change Location

To Ashburn Change
Celebrating 35 Years!
Source / Promo Code:WYAARUNKEdit

    Showing 0 of 0 item View All

    Estimated SUBTOTAL* :  $0.00

    *Excludes taxes, handling fee, and EZ Pay Service Fee, if applicable.
    Source Code:WYAARUNK Edit
    POOL CLOSING EVENT! UP TO 20% OFF!
    Shop Now

    Pool Chemical Winterizing Kits

      Pool Chemical Winterizing Kits is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 595.
      • y_2017, m_9, d_19, h_19
      • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
      • cp_2, bvpage2n
      • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_591
      • loc_en_US, sid_SKU444, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
      • clientName_intheswim
      • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.0
      • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 164ms
      • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
    Free 1-Day Delivery Available!

    To: Ashburn

    Order before 4pm CT to receive free 1-Day Delivery

    Change Location

    SPECIALLY FORMULATED POOL WINTERIZING KITS WILL NOT STAIN OR BLEACH VINYL OR PLASTER POOLS!
    • Unlike chlorine-based winterizing pool chemical kits that reduce the effectiveness of algaecide and other pool winterizing chemicals and can stain, bleach or damage pool liners, In The Swim's winter chemical kits won’t damage your pool during winter.
    • In The Swim's non-chlorine winterizing kits contain a slow-release winter floater that releases a powerful non-chlorine oxidizer to keep your pool fresh all winter long.
    • Our unique winter pool floater removes carbon dioxide, one of algae's primary food sources.
    • No staining, no bleaching... just clean, sanitary water. Our powerful non-chlorine winter pool shock kills micro-contaminants, algae and pathogens.
    • All winter pool kits are pre-measured for your specific pool size. Ordering a larger winterizing kit than your pool size will help protect from winter cover problems.
    • All winter pool kits include complete winterizing instructions.
    • Pool water temperature must be at 65 degrees F or below before winterizing.
    • Not for use in winterizing pools using a biguanide based sanitizing system.
    • Ensure peace of mind this fall with a top quality non-chlorine winterizing kit from In The Swim®.
    read more
      • Item: # W1000 Small Pool Closing Kit Now Only! $19.99 Was $21.99

        FREE 1-Day Delivery

        When you order before 4pm CT

        Pool Winter Chemical Kit, Small - for closing pools up to 7,500 gal.

        1 qt. Pool Winterizing Inhibitor 
        1 qt. Pool Winter Stain-Away 
        1 lbs. Chlorine-free winter pool shock 
        1 Winter Pool Floater - 1.2 lbs. "non-chlorine" winter oxidizer
        1 Winter Sorb™, oil absorbent winter chemical sponge

      • Item: # W1015 Deluxe Pool Closing Kit Now Only! $29.99 Was $32.99

        FREE 1-Day Delivery

        When you order before 4pm CT

        Pool Winter Chemical Kit, Deluxe - for closing pools up to 15,000 gal.

        1 qt. Pool Winterizing Inhibitor
        1 qt. Pool Winter Stain-Away
        2 lbs. Chlorine-free winter pool shock
        1 Winter Pool Floater - 2.5 lbs. "non-chlorine" winter oxidizer
        1 Winter Sorb™, oil absorbent winter chemical sponge

      • Item: # W1035 Super Pool Closing Kit Now Only! $43.99 Was $45.99

        FREE 1-Day Delivery

        When you order before 4pm CT

        Pool Winter Chemical Kit, Super - for closing pools up to 35,000 gal.

        1 qt. Pool Winterizing Inhibitor 
        1 qt. Pool Winter Stain-Away 
        3 lbs. Chlorine-free winter pool shock 
        1 Winter Pool Floater - 4 lbs. "non-chlorine" winter oxidizer
        1 Winter Sorb™, oil absorbent winter chemical sponge

      • Product Description
      • Customer Review
      • TROUBLESHOOTING
      • MORE INFO

      In The Swim sells more winter chemical kits than any other online retailer. We carry a range of pool chemical winterizing kits to prevent algae blooms and protect your pool after winterization. Regardless of the size of your pool, we have non-chlorine pool winterizing kits to meet your needs. With our pool closing kits, your winter pool chemicals are pre-measured for the size of your pool so even the least experienced pool owner can easily winterize their pool. Plus, our winter pool kits are as affordable as they are effective so opening your pool will be as easy as it was to close the pool.

      You don't have to skimp on your winter pool chemicals this year, get more bang for the buck with our low prices and fast shipping. If you find a lower priced winter pool closing kit, with as much powerful, germ-fighting efficiency as ours, check the label! Our custom designed winter pool chemical kits are designed to keep your pool and your wallet protected this winter.

      Make the smart choice this autumn, buy your pool winterizing kits from In The Swim, America's #1 Direct Source for winter pool supplies!

      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pool Closing Kit This is the second year that I purchsed this kit and it worked last year so I thought I would use it again. It is reasonably priced and it works and is delivered promptly.
      Date published: 2017-09-15
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Complete with instructions Bought this kitto close pool everything i needed. Comes with step by step instructions. Good buy
      Date published: 2017-09-15
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Products! I have used In The Swim products for 10 years now and have never been disappointed. The closing kit is excellent and my pool always looks great when we uncover it in the Spring. The one day delivery is always a plus!
      Date published: 2017-09-14
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product As expected In. The. Box. With. Instructions.
      Date published: 2017-09-14
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from consistantly a great performer I have used this product to close my pool for many years now. Every May I open the pool and the water is always sparkling clear. Except for being cold it looks like you could jump right in.
      Date published: 2017-09-14
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clear opening in spring!! But this kit repeatedly after trying other cheaper closing kits... Nothing compares. Spring opening water is always clear Have a 18000 gal pool, I go with the large package. Add an extra qt of winter algaecide after the ice melts
      Date published: 2017-09-13
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from WORKED GREAT! I bought this last year to close the pool. When we opened the pool this spring (5 months later) the water was crystal clear! I couldn't believe it! Needless to say, I just bought it again for this years closing. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!
      Date published: 2017-09-13
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy kit that works Bought the same non chlorine closing kit that I have been buying for the past few years...seemed to be a little more streamlined this year...possibly less but better product...easy instructions about a 4-5 hour project (depending how fast you can drop waterline) start to finish. I believe the non chlorine shock also is easier on your liner all winter long. Always opens to clear water in the spring. Very pleased.
      Date published: 2017-09-12
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the winterizing kits! I have used these products for several closing seasons over the years! They never fail. My water has always been very clear and ready for startup in the spring! I've always been highly satisfied with the products and service from In the Swim! Would definitely recommend!
      Date published: 2017-09-12
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Winterizing Kit Outstanding service, very fast delivery. Will reorder .
      Date published: 2017-09-12
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from The stuff works good no problems in the summer , I buy it every year for 20.00 bucks can't beat it .
      Date published: 2017-09-12
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm very happy with the products, however I'm not happy my debit card was hacked. This was the only online transaction that had done in almost a week.
      Date published: 2017-09-11
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Shopping at intheswim I have bought a number of things at intheswim and have always enjoyed the products. They are a good value and work great!
      Date published: 2017-09-11
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great, I purchase these winter kits every year.
      Date published: 2017-09-10
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good closing kit Been buying this kit for years..works great every year
      Date published: 2017-09-09
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pool closing kit I bought this closing kit about 5 yrs ago and I have ordered the same kit since because it is so easy to use. The delivery came super fast so I couldn't use the excuse of having to wait for the kit when I had to close up my pool.
      Date published: 2017-09-08
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best I've ever used Wouldn't use any other. In southern Illinois I yet to open a green pool.
      Date published: 2017-09-03
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from We have always ordered our chemicals from Intheswim and are very pleased.
      Date published: 2017-08-23
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you care about your pool - buy this! As my pool has aged, opening it has been more difficult year after year. I live in the Midwest so we get very cold winters and lots of sun in the Spring. More algae appeared year after year and I just accepted it. Would take me 1-2 weeks to get the pool clear. Found this last year and used the kit. Absolutely amazing! When I closed it last year, I followed the instructions in the kit (very easy). I then added another bottle of winter algaecide in early March. When I opened the pool in April, the water was very clear. I had the pool ready to swim in 2 days.
      Date published: 2017-08-19
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice kit This my fifth or sixth In the Swim kit. Much more convenient than going to the pool supply store. Everything needed is in the box.
      Date published: 2017-05-25
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service and fast shipping will do business again with them
      Date published: 2017-04-11
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does exactly what it should! I buy this every spring to open my pool. It does a wonderful job. I'll continue using it.
      Date published: 2017-03-29
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have for winterizing Package came fast with clear directions, pool stayed clear all winter long!
      Date published: 2017-03-29
      Rated 1 out of 5 by from so mad opened pool with mustard algae I bought this kit for 35000 because my pool is 30000 gallons I did all what the directions stated, we covered our pool and just opened it today and guess what I have mustard algae everywhere very poor product would not recommend to no one
      Date published: 2017-03-27
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job! We have successfully used In The Swim pool winterizing kits for the past three years. The first year we tried the kit we were a bit unsure about the quality because the kit was significantly less expensive than the one we had previously used. The spring following our first In The Swim Kit we opened the pool to sparkling clean water. After that we had no further qualms about using it and have made it our go to kit for pool winterization.
      Date published: 2017-03-23
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Opening pool supplies I like using the closing and open ig pool chemicals to keepy pool looking good. They work great thank you
      Date published: 2017-03-23
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use this winterizing closing kit every year, works great!
      Date published: 2016-11-08
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've used there stuff for 20 years and have never had a problem
      Date published: 2016-11-04
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! Used this last winter and it worked great. Easy start up in the spring. Purchased again for this winter.
      Date published: 2016-11-03
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product I have been buying closing kits from In The Swim for several years. The order is delivered promptly. The kit is easy to use and the instructions are easy to follow. The water is always clear when opening in the spring. I will continue to use these closing kits as long as I have a pool.
      Date published: 2016-11-03
      • y_2017, m_9, d_19, h_19
      • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
      • cp_2, bvpage2n
      • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_591
      • loc_en_US, sid_SKU444, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
      • clientName_intheswim
      • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.0
      • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
      • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

      Make sure that the pool water is cleaned, balanced before adding the winterizing kit to the water.  It is recommended to close the pool when the ambient temperature is less than 65 degrees. 

      Follow the winterizing instructions below.

      Pool Closing

      At the end of the season:

      1. Clean the Pool
      Clean-up next spring will be greatly reduced if the pool is thoroughly cleaned before closing it in the fall. Be sure to vacuum the bottom and skim the surface before proceeding to the next step. 

      2. Balance the Water 
      Balance the components of the pool the same way you would if you were maintaining your pool for the swimming season. All components should be within their desire ranges; add the appropriate corrective chemicals to bring levels into the required range.

      3. Shock the Pool and Add Algaecide
      Lithium Shock or Chlor-Free is recommended for shocking. Pool Shock can also be used, but is not recommended for vinyl liners because of the possibility of bleaching the liner In The Swim Algaecide or Algaecide 50 is recommended for preventative maintenance of algae growth over the winter months. Add the recommended dosage of algaecide and shock treatment while the pool filter is circulating the water.

      4. Add an In The Swim® Non-Chlorine Winterizing Kit
      To make winterizing simple and economical, we suggest one of the Winterizing Kits.  Our kit comes complete with Winterizing Inhibitor, Winterizing Stain-Away, Chlor-Free Shock and a float containing a non-chlorine oxidizer. (Step #3 may be skipped if using a Winterizing Kit)

      5. Lower The Water Level
      Lower the water level in the pool to 4-6 inches below the skimmer. In The Swim® suggests taking all above-ground pool filter equipment indoors for the winter to prevent cracking from freezing water. In-ground pool filters require that the lines be drained, plugged and filled with anti-freeze. Be sure to follow manufacturer’s guidelines and instructions for protecting your underground pool lines. 

      6. Drain and Plug the Lines 
      (For In-Ground Pools Only!) 
      In-ground pools require the lines to be drained, plugged, and filled with anti-freeze. First, the valves must be closed. The next step is to drain or blow out the lines. Plug them with Winterizing Plugs. Proceed to fill the skimmer line withAnti-Freeze. In the spring, the Anti-Freeze can be vacuumed out or drained into the pool since it is a non-toxic formula. Be sure to follow manufacturer guidelines and instructions for protecting in-ground pool lines. 

      Place a Skimmer Guard into the skimmer to prevent costly damage from ice. TheSkimmer Guard acts as an ice compensator, and will prevent your skimmer from cracking once the rain/snow water accumulates in the skimmer. 

      7. Covering the Pool

      Taking the time to correctly cover the pool is the single most important step to opening a clean pool in the spring.

      Instructions
      Winter Pool Chemical Kit Use Instructions:
      • Before Closing the Pool, remove all debris.
      • Kill any algae, brush and vacuum from pool.
      • Adjust pH to 7.2-7.4, and chlorine level to 2-3ppm.
      • Add Winter Pool Stain Preventer; follow label instructions.
      • Add Winter Pool Algaecide; follow label instructions.
      • Add Winterizing Non-Chlorine Shock, according to label.
      • Lower water level in pool to proper level for winterizing.
      • Poke holes in Winter Pool Floater, place in the pool.
      • Place the Winter Sorb in pool, to soak up oils.
      • Cover pool quickly, before debris blows in the pool.
      • Winterize your pool plumbing and equipment.
      What Size Is My Pool (Gallons)?
      In Ground Swimming Pool Gallonage Chart (rectangle pools)

      Average Pool Depth
      Pool Size5 ft.6 ft.7 ft.8 ft.
      10x207,5009,00010,50012,000
      12x209,00010,80012,60014,400
      12x2410,80013,00015,00017,300
      14x2814,70017,60020,50023,500
      15x3016,90020,30023,60027,000
      16x2414,40017,30020,10023,000
      16x3219,20023,00026,80030,600
      16x3621,60025,90030,20034,500
      18x3624,30029,20034,00038,800
      18x4027,00032,40037,70043,100
      20x4030,00036,00041,90047,900
      25x4542,00050,50058,90067,300


      Above Ground Swimming Pool Gallonage Chart

      Pool Depth
      Pool Size48 in.52 in.
      12' Round3,5004,000
      15' Round5,5006,000
      18' Round7,6008,300
      21' Round10,00011,000
      24' Round14,00015,000
      27' Round17,00019,000
      28' Round18,50020,000
      30' Round21,00023,000
      12x24 Oval8,0008,500
      15x24 Oval9,30010,000
      15x30 Oval12,00013,000
      16x32 Oval14,00015,000
      18x33 Oval16,00017,000
      21x41 Oval23,00025,000


      If your pool size is not listed above follow the instructions below to determine how many gallons of water your pool holds:

      Average Depth

      It is important to determine the Average Depth because it will be used in one of the equations below to determine the total gallons of your pool.

      Deep End (feet) + Shallow End (feet) ÷ 2 = Average Depth

      Now use one of the easy equations below to find your pool’s gallon capacity.

      Rectangular or Square
      Length (feet) x Width (feet) x Average Depth x 7.5 = Total Gallons

      Circular
      Diameter (feet) x Diameter (feet) x Average Depth x 5.9 = Total Gallons

      Oval
      Long Diameter (in feet) x Short Diameter (in feet) x Average Depth x 5.9 = Total Gallons

      Kidney or Free Form
      Long Diameter (in feet) x Short Diameter (in feet) x Average Depth x 5.9 = Total Gallons

      You May Also Like...